How to Delete Your Afterpay Account

How to Delete Your Afterpay Account


Afterpay does not do any hard checks, but it still makes managing finances confusing. If you don’t want to keep using those buy now, pay later apps, here is how to delete your Afterpay account.

Before you delete your account

Before you delete your account, it is important to pay off any remaining amount.

You can check for any outstanding balance in the app by going to the My Afterpay section. You will see the Total you owe area and the balance underneath it.

You can check for upcoming payments on the website by logging in to your account and going to Upcoming payments in the left sidebar.

You should also not delete your account if you are waiting for refunds. This may make the refund process harder.

Delete your Afterpay account in the app

Step 01

Afterpay Profile Settings
Afterpay Profile Settings

Open the Afterpay app and go to the My Afterpay area. Tap the Settings button on the top.

Step 02

Afterpay App Profile Details
Afterpay App Profile Details

Click the Profile details button.

Step 03

Closing Afterpay Account in the App
Closing Afterpay Account in the App

Here, tap the last Close my account option. On the next screen, choose the reason to close your account and click the Continue button.

Step 04

Last Step of Closing Afterpay Account
Last Step of Closing Afterpay Account

Lastly, click the Yes, close my account button on this screen.

Something similar: Klarna versus Afterpay

Delete your Afterpay account on the website

Step 01

Afterpay Portal
Afterpay Website

Go to the Afterpay website, and sign in to your account. Then, click your profile icon at the top right.

Step 02

Afterpay Profile
Afterpay Profile

Click on the first Profile option.

Step 03

How to close Afterpay Account
Closing Afterpay Account Step 1

Click on Close my account.

Step 04

Closing Afterpay Account
Closing Afterpay Account Step 2

Choose a reason from the drop-down menu, and click the Continue button.

Step 05

Closing Afterpay Account
Closing Afterpay Account Step 3

Click the Yes, close my account button in the pop-up.

Things you should know

Afterpay does not delete your account permanently. After deleting it, the company will still keep some of your information.

This includes your login information, order history, and any data by legal means. You can log in to your Afterpay account after deactivating it to see your details and order history.

However, you won’t be able to make any new orders. You must reactivate the account to make further purchases.

You will continue using the same account after reactivating.

Summary

Closing the Afterpay account takes a few steps but only takes two minutes.

You can do this in the profile area in the app and on the website. Afterpay lets you reopen your account if you want to return and use the service.



Source link